Login Register

Five Exeter Chiefs players in England U20 squad

By echo_nick  |  Posted: January 10, 2013

Sam Hill, from Crediton, has been named in the England under-20 squad Picture: Phil Mingo/Pinnacle

Comments (0)

Exeter Chiefs academy members Sam Hill, Jack Nowell, Henry Slade, Luke Cowan-Dickie and Jack Arnott have retained their places in the England under-20s squad.
The quintet were previously named in the squad for the season and are included in a 32-man squad preparing for the Under-20s Six Nations Championship.
Harlequins centre Harry Sloan and Leicester winger Henry Purdy have been added to the squad by head coach Rob Hunter.
They also have the annual IRB Junior World Championship in France in June to look forward to.
Hunter said: "We've made a couple of changes to the squad and brought in two guys who have been performing consistently well at their club. Both Harry and Henry are talented players and we're excited to see what they can bring.
"Our focus at the moment is solely on our own preparation and that first Six Nations game against Scotland in Plymouth. They've had a warm up game and they'll be coming at us from the first whistle, but we've trained well and we're looking forward to getting out there on February 1."
After the first match against Scotland at Brickfields on Friday, February 1 (5.45pm), England travel to Athlone to play Ireland on February 8 (6.35pm) and then host France at Worcester on Saturday, February 23 (3pm). 
They face Italy in their fourth match at Northampton on Saturday, March 9 (8.05pm) and end their campaign against Wales at Colwyn Bay on Friday, March 15 (7.30pm).

England Under-20s squad, forwards: Dominic Barrow (Leeds), Jack Clifford (Harlequins), Luke Cowan Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), Max Crumpton (Saracens),  Matt Hankin (Saracens), Alec Hepburn (Wasps), Tom Jubb (Saracens), Ross Moriarty (Gloucester), Nathan Morris (Wasps), Tom Price (Leicester), Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins), David Sisi (London Irish), Scott Spurling (Saracens), Elliott Stooke (Gloucester), Harry Wells (Leicester), Scott Wilson (Newcastle). Backs: Jack Arnott (Exeter Chiefs), Callum Braley (Bristol), Tom Collins (Northampton), Alex Day (Northampton), Ollie Devoto (Bath), Nathan Fowles (Sale), Sam Hill (Exeter Chiefs), Will Hooley (Northampton), Ben Howard (Worcester), Mark Jennings (Sale), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Henry Purdy (Leicester), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), Harry Sloan (Harlequins), Tom Stephenson (Northampton), Anthony Watson (London Irish) 

Read more from Exeter Express and Echo

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters