Login Register

Final week of Ashford's Indoor Club Cricket League AND Cup Draw announced

By ashcan  |  Posted: November 25, 2012

Division 1 Champions Bovey Tracey

Comments (0)

The final week of the league fixtures saw Bovey Tracey lose their Division 1 unbeaten record, but pick up the Division 1 Trophy. Playing a determined Witheridge side, Bovey scored a par score of 117-3 with Sam Wyatt-Haines employing the sweep to good effect in reaching 37 not out. Devon skipper Chris Bradley supported him with 23. In reply Witheridge had little help from four batters who managed four runs between them.  However, Dan Coles refused to capitulate, he was battered and bruised in scoring 28.  When he was out, last man standing, Russell Hilton took up the cudgels and his combative 46 not out saw the Mid Devon side to victory with 3 balls remaining.  This result gave Witheridge second place.
In the other First Division game last years champions Shobrooke Park completed a miserable season with an 11 run defeat against Exeter, who finished one place above them.Their were significant contributions from Richard Nelsey 32, Jon Tipper 27 and George Greenaway 28 not out in Exeter's formidable total of 136-5. Shobrooke produced probably their best performance of the season in reaching 125.  Veteran Richard Pyle an Justin Dollow both scored 31, and youngster Andrew Steer hit a belligerent 34 down the order.
In Division 2 Sandford finished the season unbeaten when they beat Exeter 2 by 47 runs in a game restricted to 10 overs each.  Kiwi Luke Wright was the evenings top scorer with a hard hitting 51. He was ably assisted by Ben Hancock 31 not out and Shaun Fryett who made 25 not out, preserving his record of being undefeated all season as well.  In reply Steve Morish took 3-2, with Sam Reddick with 23 the only significant resistance.
The tightest game of the evening was the contest between Newton St Cyres and Erratics with the game going to the last ball with all three results possible. Newton scored 96-4 against the bottom side, with Johnson 25 and Tahla 22 the main scorers. With Kirby and Ferro both scoring 27 at the top of the order Erratics looked capable of spring a surprise. However the experienced Mike Johnson used all his nous in the last over and took two wickets from his last two deliveries to confirm victory by 3 runs, secure second place for The Saints.

Attention now turns to the Peter Blight Cup with the First Round on Friday 30th November.  The draw has produced some interesting pairings.  The first game at 6pm sees Division 1 winners Bovey Tracey play the Division 2 runners up Newton St Cyres.
The second game sees unbeaten Sandford play Erratics who produced some giant killing performances last year, including the scalp of Sandford, in reaching the final.  Could they do it again this year?
Exeter play their young Second team in a real local derby.
The final game sees Shobrooke Park against Witheridge, in what should be close game. The winners play semi finals on 7th December and the losers go in to a Plate Competition on the same evening.


Read more from Exeter Express and Echo

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters