Login Register

Gay Marriage: How Devon MPs voted

By Rich_Booth  |  Posted: February 06, 2013

Ben Bradshaw

Comments (0)

Britian looks set to adopt gay marriage after the House of Commons voted to give the marriage (same sex couples) bill a second reading yesterday.

In Devon a total of four MPs opposed the bill, eight voted in favour and one did not vote. See the full list below.

Exeter MP Ben Bradshaw said yesterday that he was in favour of the bill but added that he wanted to know why ministers said the Church of England wanted the "quadruple lock", when the church has questioned this.

See a video of Ben Bradshaw speaking in the House of Commons below:

Related content

After the votes had been announced the Exeter MP tweeted; “MPs vote overwhelmingly 400 to 175  to support  #equalmarriage  - interesting number will be how Tory vote split”

Read more on ‘West MPs support reforms as Commons majority backs gay marriage legislation’ here.

How Devon MPs voted:

Opposed the bill:

Anne Marie Morris (Con, Newton Abbot)

Neil Parish (Con, Tiverton and Honiton)

Mel Stride (Con, Central Devon)

Geoffrey Cox (Con, Devon West & Torridge)

Voted For:

Alison Seabeck (Lab, Plymouth Moor View)

Oliver Colville (Con, Plymouth Sutton & Devonport)

Hugo Swire (Con, Devon East)

Dr Sarah Wollaston (Con, Totnes)

Sir Nick Harvey (Lib, Devon North)

Adrian Sanders (Lib, Torbay)

Alison Seabeck (Lab, Plymouth Moor View)

Ben Bradshaw (Lab, Exeter)

Did not vote:

Gary Streeter (Con, Devon South West)

Votes by party:

44 Lib Dems voted in favour, four voted against and seven did not vote.

217 Labour MPs voted in favour of the bill, 22 Labour MPs voted against and 16 did not vote.

126 Conservatives voted in favour, 136 Tories opposed Bill's second reading and 35 did not vote. Another five Conservative MPs voted both for the bill and against it, the tradition way of registering an abstention.

Read more from Exeter Express and Echo

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters