Login Register


By Exeter Express and Echo  |  Posted: November 29, 2012

Comments (0)

exeter G&CC

THIS week's stand out team was that of Brian Hoare, John Lovegrove, Nigel Armstrong and John Milford with a combined team score of 86 points.

In second was the team of Geoff Pascoe, Darren Thorpe, Tim Harris and Dave Newbery with 85 points narrowly edging out the team of Tony Edge, Neil Woolfrey, Jon Robertson and Les Phare. In fourth place with 84 points were Adrian Pike, Graham Crocker, Gary Quinn and Shaun Greenaway.

Adrian Pike and Debbie More both recorded a hole-in-ones. Adrian's came on the 12th, while Debbie's was on the 16th.

A few days before that the lady captain Sheila Scott managed an ace on the sixth.

The ladies' event last week was a three-ball team event with one score to count all the way round.

Taking the spoils with 45 stableford points were Annie Norman, Kathy McBain and Gill Newbery. Just missing out, an a countback were Ann Willett, Gerry Setter and Jenny Taylor. Taking third place with 44 points were Shirley Mason, Jackie Harris and Viv Worthington.

east devon league

Honiton begin the defence of their East Devon League title against Sidmouth, who have won the title for the two previous seasons.

The curtain raiser of the season will take place at Exminster in April. Runners-up Fingle Glen, who were edged out by a single point, will start their campaign against Axe Cliff. Fingle and Honiton clash at Woodbury Park in June.

The season is due to end with the final round of games at Padbrook Park in September, when the Express & Echo Shield will be presented to the winners.

East Devon League 2012 fixtures, Saturday, April 6 (at Exminster): Woodbury Park v Padbrook Park, Axe Cliff v Fingle Glen, Honiton v Sidmouth. Sat May 25 at Fingle Glen: Honiton v Axe Cliff, Exminster v Woodbury Park, Sidmouth v Padbrook Park. Sunday, June 16 (at Woodbury Park): Sidmouth v Exminster, Fingle Glen v Honiton, Padbrook v Axe Cliff. Saturday, July 20 (at Axe Cliff): Fingle Glen v Sidmouth, Padbrook Park v Exminster, Woodbury Park v Honiton. Saturday, August 24 (at Honiton): Padbrook Park v Fingle Glen, Woodbury Park v Sidmouth, Axe Cliff v Exminster. Sunday, September 1 (at Sidmouth): Axe Cliff v Woodbury Park, Honiton v Padbrook Park, Exminster v Fingle Glen. Sunday, September 22 (at Padbrook Park): Exminster v Honiton, Sidmouth v Axe Cliff, Fingle Glen v Woodbury Park

padbrook park

John Locke was announced as Padbrook's clubman of the year at the club's presentation night.

Locke was among the leading lights in the club's working party. One of the achievements was the building of an airline cleaner for shoes and trollies.

James Reed, who won the order of merit, was named junior of the year. As well as success in adult competitions, Reed had an excellent record in the East Devon Junior League. The 10-year-old has been named in the Devon junior squad for coaching.

Tom Evans picked up the eclectic gross award. This is for the best score in competitions throughout the year on each hole. He edged out Cary Rawlings by two shots.

Kelvin Curtis won the handicap stableford eclectic with a score of 58 points, two ahead of Andy Rooker.

Results, 2012 Eclectic Scratch: 1 T Evans 61, 2 C Rawlings 63, 3 A Rooker 64, 4 K Radbourne 64, 5 M Perrott 64, 6 M Want 65, 7 M Thomas 65, 8 R Hutchings 65.

2012 Eclectic stableford: 1 K Curtis 58pts, 2 C Fisher 56, 3 A Rooker 56, 4 K Radbourne 56, 5 A Held 56, 6 T Evans 55, 7 M Want 55, 8 GT Stevenson 55, 9 P Knight 55.

woodbury park

With an attendance of over 130 people and involving 52 awards, the trophy presentation evening proved a great success.

During the evening a cheque for £10,100 raised by members over the season was presented to the charity Adults and Young Children with Cancer, which is based at the Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital. This will enable the hospital to build a dedicated room for the treatment of young patients whereas at the present time they share adult facilities.

The seniors played a team stableford, with one score to count on the first six, two on the second and all three on the third. The winners were Peter Warner, Andrzej Sobczak and David Morris ahead of Norma Baker, Ray Dwan and Terry Tilbury runners up.


The Sunday game was very fortuitous to have reached a conclusion.

However, division one winner Stuart Selway was happy it did as he fought his way through very wet conditions to take first place with 41 points, ahead of eager junior Jake Phillips (36) and Dean Bonetta (36), who came third on a countback.

Division two was a close run affair too with Kevin Thompson (40), pipping Andy Wall (40) on a count back. Steve Charlton was third with 39.

fingle glen

The seniors were the only ones brave enough to battle the elements this week.

It was the final chance to play the postponed all-winners trophy. The winner, with a six-under round of nett 64 was Dave Flint. Second in division one was Pete Jarman (67), and third John Cordery (70), beating Peter Pattison on a countback.

In division two Malcolm Heale shot an excellent nett 64 to win. Second was Ken Broad (70), third John Middleton (72), and fourth Peter Tregenna (73).

The Alzheimer's Society, this year's captain's charity, has been presented with a cheque for £13,000.


Keith Thomas, Paul Ham and Stuart Jasper won a Texas scramble for the inaugural Hoyland Trophy.

The event was played in memory of Mick Hoyland, one of Exminster's first members who died last year.

Ollie Knowles, Neil Henderson and Graham Heaman were runners-up.

Read more from Exeter Express and Echo

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters