Login Register


By Exeter Express and Echo  |  Posted: January 10, 2013

Comments (0)

Padbrook Park

PADBROOK Park's advanced professional Stuart Disney is leading the Devon PGA order of merit after picking up two wins recently.

He won a Devon Winter Series competition at Torquay before taking eighth spot in the next event at East Devon.

He then took a three-shot win after firing a four-under-par 67 on Saunton's west course.

Disney said: "I've been practising hard on my game lately and it has started to pay dividends in my results.

"My score at Saunton would have been even better but for a dropped shot on the last."

There was a big turnout as Padbrook Park's new captains drove in.

An 18-hole team event was played after 2012 captain Chris Manley completed the ceremonial putt out.

New captain Phil Moore took to the tee and was joined by junior captain Max Rawlings and senior captain Rod Elston.

The competition, which was staged as a shotgun start, was won by Dean Silversides, new vice-captain Rod Hutchings, Chris Senik and Duncan Stamp.

They scored 128 points in the stableford event, where the best three scores counted on each hole. They finished five points clear of their nearest challengers.

Results: 1 D Silversides, C Senik, R Hutchings, D Stamp 128, 2 A Pym, D Clow, D Clow, A Robarts and S Held, A Held, K Holway, P Waters 123, 4 J Locke, C Fisher, A Rooker, B Colbourne 119, 5 K Taylor, R Broomfield, J Reed, P Reed 118, 6 K Radbourne, C Edwards, T Evans, P Knight 116


Martin Selby launched his tenure as captain on New Year's Day, taking over from Peter Garnsworthy.

He started his year in office with the traditional captains' drive-in from the 10th tee alongside the three other new skippers for 2013 – Anto Hajduk (ladies), John Woods (veterans) and Nixie Acfield (juniors).

Mike Holder and Mark Sangster won the cross-country challenge on New Year's Day with a nett 29.75 over the eight-hole, par-32 layout.

Peter Boax and John Sampson (30) and Tony and Karen Allsopp (30.5) completed the top three.

Selby started his year of captaincy in style by winning the four-man team event with Charlie Durnan, Ray Pratt and Tony Allsopp on Saturday.

The quartet racked up 88 stableford points to push Gary Taylor, Cameron Bundy, Les Christiansen and Mark Davitt (86) into second place.

Pete Guest, Heath Ellis, Mark Sangster and John Stuckey finished third with 83.

Last year's lady captain Charlotte Snow won the three clubs and a putter competition on Wednesday.

The 17-handicapper carded 20 stableford points over 11 holes to finish four ahead of Caroline Anderson in division one.

Mollie Pilling scored 18 to claim the division two prize by one shot from fellow youngster Hannah Carthew.


Bob Underwood marked his first competition as senior captain with the best score of the day and, under the winter handicap rules, was shown a red card so must play the rest of the winter season with a handicap reduction of two.

The first division was won by Ron Graham with 37 points, with Malcolm Matthews beating Dave Maggs on a countback to second.

Underwood won division two, beating Steve Blundell, Norrie Fleet, Ron Rogers and Phil Faulkner. Ron Cooper scored the only two and won 36 balls to share with his partners, while Malcolm Matthews holed a 130-yard approach shot.

teign valley

New Year's Day saw Dave Stevens, Dougie Porter and Maggie Thomson take the mixed threeball team stableford with 75 points. Tony Martin was the only one to score a two.

The captains' drive-in took place on Saturday, with the outgoing captains putting out and the new captains (men's, ladies', Teignagers' and juniors') driving off at the head of the field for a fourball team stableford with three scores to count.

Chris Pugh, Richard Aggett, Martin Harris and Chris Davey started their year off well with an amazing 128 points.


Paul Ayris and Kerry Skinner won division one in the fourball better ball stableford competition with 49 points, two ahead of David Chammings and Peter Kiss, who beat Rod Milsom-Smith and Colin Beardwell on the back nine.

Division two winners were Ron Copeland and Graham Harding 47), ahead of Rod Jones and Mike Charlesworth (44) and Barry Ratcliffe and Will Kinkead (43 ).

Read more from Exeter Express and Echo

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters