Login Register

Newtown go clear at the top of the Premier

By Exeter Express and Echo  |  Posted: November 15, 2012

Comments (0)

NEWTON will make the short journey to Topsham this Saturday knowing they will remain Premier Division leaders whatever the outcome.

Newtown's 3-0 win against Clyst Valley opened a four-point cushion. Jake Hobbs, Dale O'Donoghue and Aaron James were Newtown's scorers.

St Martins let a two-goal lead slip away at Heavitree where it finished 2-2. Kevin Pike and Tom Beddows scored for the Saints before Ben Murby and Scott Partington rescued Heavitree.

Exmouth Amateurs had their first win 5-2 at Budleigh Salterton with Mitchell Cudd (2), Craig Higham, Leigh Begam and Matt Cousins scoring. Josh Kirby and Dave Radford were the Robin's scorers.

Seaton Town beat neighbours Beer Albion 3-1 in front of a crowd of 250. Dan Norman, Tom Vincent and James Hill scored for Seaton.

The University won just their second match 1-0 against Willand, while Topsham won 2-0 at Thorverton thanks to an Ashley McDermid brace. Tops also missed a penalty.

Second place Sidbury United halved the lead of inactive Division One leaders Chard Town with a 5-0 crushing of relegated East Budleigh. Danny Green (3), Sam Elstub and Glen Salter were the scorers.

Tiverton Town moved into third place as they beat Heavitree 4-0 with Kieran Rapo (2), Tom Tricker and Darryl Kewley scoring.

Witheridge recovered from last week's cup embarrassment to beat Wellington 2-1, Ben Payne and Lee Radford were on target.

Colyton secured their first point with a 1-1 draw against Alphington.

Lucky Division Two leaders Elmore scored twice in the last three minutes to rob Pinhoe who led through Lee Dunn. The Eagles won 2-1, with Kevin Mills and Stuart Anderson scoring. It was Anderson's first goal in over 400 outings that won the match.

Bickleigh also won 2-1 with secretary Ben White getting the winner and his first goal in two years. Ashley Perrott also scored.

Rivals Dawlish sent Westexe packing 4-0 with Ash Donohue (2), Ben Smith and Dan Langley scoring. Colaton Raleigh beat Clyst Valley 2-0. Honiton won 4-3 against Halwill to make it five wins on the bounce. Bradley Groves, Dan Broom, Tim Genders and Ryan Dunn shared the goals.

Division Three leaders Crediton held on to their unbeaten record with a 1-1 draw at the University, but they are under pressure from South Zeal after their 4-1 win against Thorverton. Harley Cann and Scott Hooper both netted twice for Zeal.

A point further back Newton St Cyres won by a single goal at Lympstone, but the top three will be aware of Dolphin, whose 7-3 victory against Offwell means they have yet to drop a point. Darren Pattinson (2), Ryan Harris (2), Elliot Wells, Marc Smith and Nathan Hooper were Dolphin's scorers.

Craig Woodgate and Luke Woolacott both netted twice for Newtown in a 5-0 win against Sandford. Will Hart added the other.

Division Four pacemakers Axminster Town recorded a narrow 3-2 win against a battling Woodbury.

Exmouth Amateurs won their big derby game with Exmouth Town 4-0. Robbie Lambert (2), Morgan Johnson and Danny Hall scoring.

The Lords XI came from a goal down to shatter the University 3-1. Julian Wills (2) and Mike Holding were the scorers.

Newtown won 2-1 at Bampton with Aaron Matthews and Ryan Pearson scoring.

Cullompton Rangers exited the Firewatch Devon Senior Cup after losing 2-0 at Lynton and Lynmouth. There was no joy for either Morchard Bishop or Amory Argyle in the Devon Intermediate Cup. Morchard went out 6-4 after extra time to the holders Millwey Rise after leading 3-1 in normal time with 20 minutes remaining. Jack Piper, Matt Madelin, Patrick Phillips and Ryan Piper scored for Morchard.

Amory lost 4-2 against Farway, the home goals from Scott Butler and Luke Carroll.

In form Division Five leaders Cheriton Fitzpaine beat their closest rivals Countess Wear 4-1. Dean Pidgeon (2), Mike Back and a Joel Gebler penalty won it for the Cherries. Nathan Foggin was the Countess scorer.

Culm United won 5-3 against Bow with Steve Alford (2), Graham Bowles, Carl Todd and John Alford on target.

Uplowman celebrated their first win 2-1 at Lapford with Adam Cumes and Rob Hanna scoring.

Daniel Smith and Darren Pearse were Westexe scorers in their 2-0 win against Clyst Valley. Awliscombe are up to the dizzy heights of second after their 1-0 win at Sampford Peverell.

Amory Park Rangers swamped Chagford 11-1, but still share top place in Division 6 with Silverton who settled for a 3-0 success against Langdon. Matt Reed (2) and Nat Davey scored. There were goals aplenty elsewhere. Dawlish hit six at North Tawton and Dunkeswell went one better winning 7-0 at Topsham with Max Mckeown (3), Steve Morris (2), Eric Cligg and Stuart Ward on the mark.

Exwick Village won their derby against Priory 6-1 with Dan Leat (3), Wayne Webber, Shaun Spry and Thomas Roberts scoring.

Newton St Cyres became the first team to score against Division Seven leaders Met Office but still lost 3-2. Wayne Moxey scored twice to win it for the Weathermen.

Starcross Generals won a goal-fest at Cheriton Fitzpaine 6-4, and Ottery St Mary completed the double against Open Space International winning 3-1. Ali Omrani was the OSI scorer.

In Division 8 Offwell Rangers shot into the top three after crushing Lapford 6-1. Harry Hutton (3), Karl Allen (2) and Vulnett Guri scored.

Bickleigh won 6-1 against Bampton with Shane Mears contributing a hat-trick.

Stuart Barkwell and George Otton were Newtown's scorers in their 2-2 draw at Alphington.

Read more from Exeter Express and Echo

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters